Garage21 - Iliopoulos

February 01, 2023

Garage21 - Iliopoulos is a car repair shop based in Kalamata, Greece. They had their website on wordpress.com but they had a few issues with it.

Issues

I identified several areas in which I could improve:

  • they had perhaps tried to make the webpage by themselves. As a result, the webpage had a broken layout
  • confusing color-scheme
  • grammar/spelling mistakes
  • missing information (address, opening hours etc.)
  • unnecessary javascript files (due to wordpress)
  • unnecessary large webpage file (due to wordpress)

Development

I originally suggested fixing the page on the wordpress, since they had an account there and they were paying for it but they had difficulties login into the service, so I had to start from scratch. I made a single page with just html/css. I kept the idea of their original layout, but I moved the site to a dark-theme. I corrected the mistakes and I added all the missing information, including the policies for privacy, gdpr etc. All the images were optimized and converted to webp. format.

Since the page is just a single file, without unnecessary javascript and stylesheets, it loads fast and the size is down to a minimum. Most importantly, the site is hosted in Netlify and it doesn’t cost them anything.
The page has also a contact form managed automatically by Netlify.

Visit the site